He is one of Australia’s leading couture and bridal designers and is a favourite to many brides and celebrities around the world. Sahar Mourad caught up with Steven Khalil to find out more.

Sahar: How does it feel to be one of Australia’s leading couture and bridal designers?

Steven: I am very honoured to be in a profession that I love and to work every day in a field that I really enjoy. I love working with brides and also with high profile clients and celebrities.

Sahar: If you had not become successful in this profession, what was the alternate pathway would you have taken?

Steven: I was interested in hairdressing early on however it was never as much a passion as design so I’m very happy that I get to do what I love every day.

Sahar: What were the obstacles you encountered starting out, and how did you overcome them?

Steven: Early on there were a few hurdles but everyone who starts out has those. I think it was finding the right people to move my business forward and making sure I surrounded myself with people that believe in the business was and still is key to the success of any business or brand.

Sahar: Is there anyone in particular who inspired you to study fashion and pursue it as a career?

Steven: When I was younger I was very interested in Coco Chanel, Yves Saint Laurent and Christian Dior. It was funny because when I would speak to some people about those names, most people had no idea they were actually people and not just labels!

Sahar: You like to revive designs from back in the day. What makes you decide that that is a good idea and it will work?

Steven: I always look to many different things for my design inspiration- I love simple and classic timeless silhouettes that aren’t all about trends or fads. Quality and craftsmanship are key elements to my creations.

Sahar: Have you ever had an unusual request from a celebrity/client and struggled to execute it?

Steven: We sometimes get quite unusual requests but we always manage to work with both celebrities and clients to achieve something amazing that makes everyone happy. Sometimes you just need to explain to a client that what they may want might not be the best option for them. I like to create pieces that celebrate and accentuate and make a woman feel feminine and confident.

steven khalil 2

Sahar: What is your favourite part about being a fashion designer?

Steven: So much of my work I really love. Creating new designs and pieces is what I enjoy most. The process of creating a couture piece is always exciting and seeing the finished product and how it makes people feel is also very special.

Sahar: Would you ever consider designing men’s wear?

Steven: I never say never- But for now womenswear and couture are my passions and what I enjoy most. But you never know!

Sahar: What is the most important thing about fashion to you?

Steven: There are so many aspects of fashion that are important to me but I really value quality, simplicity and silhouette above all else- especially for my designs. Innovation, new techniques and fabrics are always of high importance also.

Sahar: What advice do you have for aspiring fashion designers?

Steven: I am asked this question quite a lot and to me the most important thing is perseverance. This industry like many is very competitive and you need to be able to trust in your ability and creativity but also to be able to take advice from those in the industry that have been successful. Believing in yourself is so important for this business as it gives you the confidence to continue.

Sahar: Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Steven: I would love to continue doing what I love and having the business growing and expanding every day. I want to diversify the brand and reach a global audience and hopefully in this time that would be a reality. Oh, and to have a proper holiday!